After being engaged in a car accident, you want to take steps for financial compensation. Your first step is to file an insurance claim with the insurance company of the at-fault driver. This claim may lead to payment for your accident-related losses like medical bills, property damage, and lost wages. But, if the claim does not work, you may have to take the negligent driver to court for a personal injury lawsuit. This is where you will need the services of a skilled car crash attorney in Pueblo. In Colorado, you need to observe a deadline when filing both kinds of claims.
Colorado Statute of Limitations for Accidents
In Colorado, the statute of limitations is the deadline for filing a car accident claim. This deadline is enforced to encourage claimants to file on time after an accident. There are different deadlines to keep in mind depending on the kind of civil case. In general, you have three years from the date of the accident to file a car accident lawsuit in Colorado. This timeline applies to most kinds of personal injury claims in the state.
Sometimes, injuries are not discovered right after the accident. In this case, you have three years from the date of discovery instead of the date of the accident. If you are filing a wrongful death claim, the clock will begin to tick on the date your loved one died, not the date of the crash. But, keep in mind that the statute of limitations refers to civil lawsuits, not car insurance claims.
When it comes to filing a car insurance claim, you have a much shorter deadline than a personal injury lawsuit. The majority of car insurance providers require claimants to report the accident as soon as possible. Typically, this means 24-72 hours after the crash or when you can physically make a phone call. If you fail to file the insurance claim on time, you could lose your right to any compensation.
When Will Your Claim be Resolved?
After you file your claim with the insurance company of the at-fault driver, the company should acknowledge your claim within seven to ten business days. The company has 30-45 days to issue a response that resolves your claim. The company will use this time to investigate your case, so you should be able to get a call from an insurance claims adjuster.
If the insurance company accepts your claim, it moves to the negotiation stage. Your attorney will negotiate a fair amount of compensation for you. If the company refuses to make a fair offer, your attorney may suggest that you take your case to court.